Talking Turkey

I agree with everything this gentleman said except that the coup was not the way to remove Erdogan. First of all Turkey didn’t have a democracy. They already had a tyranny in all but name. But it’s gonna be much, much worse now.

Good read.

Padre Steve's World...Musings of a Progressive Realist in Wonderland


Friends of Padre Steve’s World,

I have just a few thoughts tonight as I decided to wait on writing this until I spent some time with a Turkish-American friend of mine who has been an American citizen about thirty years, married to an American woman, but who had served as a junior officer I the Turkish Army, and still has relatives in Anarka.

I have known a good number of Turks, most who were Turkish military due to my time in the military working with NATO. I have always held the Turks in good regard and had the distinct pleasure of visiting Turkey in 2002. I admired the political system set up by Mustafa Kemal Ataturk which set Turkey on the road to being Muslim nation with a secular constitution and government. Turkey, nor its leaders were not perfect, and the Turkish military and courts were the bastion of secularism…

View original post 547 more words

Leave a Reply

